Персональный сайт Леонида Черновецкого

THE RICH PAY FOR THE POOR
For wealthy Kiev residents paying utility bills would not be as onerous as for any ordinary pensioner living in the capital.
Wasn't fulfilled due to the lack of adequate regulatory framework at the state level

It must be confessed that we live in a country where people have different prosperity: one earns a million a day, while the other earns a few thousand hryvnias per year.

What my idea was… I wanted to implement a project according to which in Kiev – the city which is home to at least 20% of very rich people – this very category of citizens incurred the bulk of expenses in terms of payment for utility services through differentiation of rates – for the rich they had to be high, while for the poor they had to be as low as possible.

For wealthy Kiev residents paying utility services would not be as onerous as for any ordinary pensioner living in the capital. Because it is obvious that the wealthy residents of Kiev spend in restaurants in a single night more money than any old man or woman receives a month as a pension.

In the future, I wanted to release from the payment for public services the Kievans to which such item of expenditure is extremely onerous, and there were about 650-700 thousand Kievans like that at the time.

In the first phase, it was planned to differentiate the rates for ordinary consumers and for prosperous companies and businesses with high profit – banks, casinos and restaurants.

In general, I knew that the increase in rates was a very tough sell. And that no one, even those who believed me and supported my initiatives, would cheer that. I wasn’t looking for the cheers. And all my detractors knew well at that point in time that utility rates in Kiev had to be increased.

The purpose of increasing the utility rates was primarily the desire to restore the housing and utilities sector of the capital, so that the houses and the yards on each street could offer big-city conveniences, so that the entrances were renovated, household garbage removed, elevators working, night streets illuminated. But the idea was to do it not at the expense of the Kievans, who after having paid utility bills were supposed to afford water and bread, but at the expense of the rich people and prosperous firms, for which the utility rates increase would not mean the hand-to-mouth existence and the inability to buy the vital medicine…

On October 30, 2008, a decision to increase utility rates was made at the Kiev City Council Session. On my own initiative, the deputies voted for the decision according to which the utility rates for ordinary people would remain unchanged, while for very profitable businesses they would increase 5-10 fold.

After that, I signed the relevant Order that primarily regulated the 1.08-9.5-fold increase in the utility rates for legal entities, but later it was revoked by the President of Ukraine on November 20, 2008.

On November 27, 2008, the Order of the Head of the Kiev City State Administration on increase in utility services for legal entities was signed again, which was revoked on January 12, 2009 by Presidential Decree again.

In 2009, the Order of the Head of the Kiev City State Administration on the 8.55-fold increase in utility rates for 9 categories of businesses since January 16 was drawn up and signed again, as an alternative to the previously established 9.5-fold increase for 11 categories of businesses since December 1.

This order provided for the rates increase for casinos and gambling establishments, nightclubs and strip clubs; bars in entertainment establishments; offices of political parties; exchanges, pawn shops and real estate agencies; gun shops, antique shops, jewelry shops; mobile carriers; exchange shops; appraisers.

Thus, the list of legal entities for which the utility rates were raised, was reduced from 11 to 9; car dealerships and 3-, 4- and 5-star hotels were excluded from it.

All tariffs for 9 types of legal entities were increased 8.55-fold: for heating – by 40.65 hryvnias to 46.03 hryvnias per 1 sq. m. of heated area in the heating season, for hot water supply and sewerage – by 125.13 hryvnias to 141.7 hryvnias per cubic metre, for cold water supply and sewerage – by 33.98 hryvnias to 38.48 hryvnias per cubic metre.

Accordingly, the Kiev City State Administration declared null and void the Order of November 27 on 9.5-fold increase in utility rates for 11 categories of legal entities, revoked by the President of Ukraine Viktor Yushchenko.

However, the new order was subsequently revoked as well.

In the end, I can say that during 2007-2009 I wanted to make the utility rates socially fair and introduce more than 10 different utility rates for different categories of consumers, primarily in order to gradually decrease the expenses for housing and public utilities for disadvantaged social groups, while steadily increasing the quality of services.

Back to the list of projects

Другие проекты:

BACK TO TOP

Персональный сайт Леонида Черновецкого

БОГАТЫЕ ПЛАТЯТ ЗА БЕДНЫХ
Для «богатой части Киевлян», уплата коммунальных платежей не была бы столь обременительной, как для обычного столичного пенсионера.
Не реализовано в связи с отсутствием необходимой законодательной базы на государственном уровне

Надо признать, что мы живем в стране, в которой люди имеют разный достаток: один зарабатывает миллион в день, другой – несколько тысяч гривен в год.

В чем состояла моя идея… Я хотел, чтобы в Киеве – городе, в котором живут не менее 20% очень богатых людей, именно эта часть горожан несла расходы на оплату коммунальных услуг, путем дифференциации тарифов – для богатых они должны были быть высокими, для бедных – минимально низкими.

Для этой «богатой части киевлян», уплата коммунальных платежей не была бы столь обременительной, как для обычного столичного пенсионера. Поскольку очевидно, что обеспеченные жители Киева тратят в ресторанах за один вечер больше денег, чем получают за месяц какие-то бабушка или дедушка.

В будущем я хотел вообще освободить от уплаты коммунальных услуг киевлян, для которых такая статья расходов – тяжелейшее бремя, а таких было на тот момент порядка 650-700 тыс.

На первом этапе планировалось дифференцировать тарифы для обычных потребителей и для успешных компаний и предприятий, которые имеют высокие прибыли – банки, казино, рестораны.

В целом я знал, что повышение тарифов – крайне непопулярное решение. И что никто, даже те, кто верили и поддерживали мои шаги, этому аплодировать не будут. Я не надеялся на аплодисменты. И все мои на тот момент критики прекрасно знали: тарифы на коммунальные услуги в Киеве нужно было повысить.

Целью повышения тарифов было, прежде всего, желание восстановить жилищно-коммунальную отрасль столицы, чтобы дома и дворы на каждой из улиц имели столичный комфорт, чтобы подъезды были отремонтированы, мусор убран, лифты работали, ночные улицы освещены. Но идея состояла в том, чтобы сделать это не за счет киевлян, которым после уплаты за коммунальные услуги хватает только на воду и хлеб, а за счет богатых людей и успешных компаний, для которых повышение тарифов не означает жизнь впроголодь и невозможность купить необходимые для жизни лекарства…

30 октября 2008 года было принято решение сессии Киевсовета о повышении тарифов на ЖКУ. По моей личной инициативе депутаты проголосовали за то, что тарифы для обычных людей останутся без изменения, а для особо прибыльных коммерческих предприятий – увеличены в 5-10 раз.

После этого я подписал соответствующее распоряжение, которое регламентировало в первую очередь повышение тарифов для юридических лиц в 1,08 – 9,5 раза, но оно, в последствие, было отменено Президентом Украины 20 ноября 2008 года.

27 ноября 2008 года было повторно подписано распоряжение главы КГГА о повышении тарифов на ЖКУ для юридических лиц, которое 12 января 2009 года опять было отменено указом Президента.

В 2009 году опять было подготовлено и подписано распоряжение главы КГГА о повышении тарифов на коммунальные услуги для 9 категорий коммерческих предприятий в 8,55 раз с 16 января, вместо установленного ранее повышения для 11 категорий предприятий в 9,5 раза с 1 декабря.

Это распоряжение предусматривало повышение тарифов для казино и игорных заведений; ночных клубов и стрипбаров; баров в развлекательных заведениях; офисов политических партий; бирж, ломбардов и агентств недвижимости; магазинов оружия, антиквариата, ювелирных изделий; операторов мобильной связи; пунктов обмена валют; оценщиков.

Таким образом, было уменьшено перечень юридических лиц с 11 до 9, для которых повышались тарифы и исключены из него автосалоны и 3-, 4- и 5-звездочные гостиницы.

Все тарифы для 9 видов юридических лиц повысились в 8,55 раза: на отопление – на 40,65 до 46,03 гривны за 1 кв. м отапливаемой площади в отопительный сезон, на горячую воду и водоотвод – на 125,13 до 141,7 грн./куб. м, на холодную воду и ее отвод – на 33,98 до 38,48 грн./куб. м.

Соответственно, КГГА признала утратившим силу распоряжение от 27 ноября о повышении тарифов на коммунальные услуги для 11 категорий юридических лиц в 9,5 раза, отмененное Президентом Виктором Ющенко.

Но и новое распоряжение было в последствие, отменено.

Как итог можно сказать, что в течение 2007-2009 годов я хотел сделать социально справедливые тарифы  и ввести более 10 разных тарифов для разных групп пользователей, прежде всего для того, чтобы постепенно расходы на ЖКУ для социально-незащищенных слоев населения снижались, а качество предоставляемых услуг только повышалось.

Вернуться к проектам

Другие проекты

Наверх