Персональный сайт Леонида Черновецкого

FLOWER CLOCK
A complex clockwork was presented to the city of Kiev from the administration of the sister city of Edinburgh.
Fulfilled

The overall diameter of the clock is 19.5 m, and the diameter of the clock face is 16.5 m.

In 2009, on the eve of the Independence Day, August 23, we unveiled one of the biggest flower clocks in Europe and worldwide.

50 thousand flowers were used for floral decoration of the first design of this clock; half of them were used to form the background panel, while another half was used to form the flower clock itself. 400 tons of soil were brought to form the soil matrix under the clock. The sketch of the flower clock was developed based on the works of the people’s artist of Ukraine Leonid Andrievsky.

The soil matrix consists of 400 tons of soil;

50 thousand flowers;

sketch developed by L. Andrievsky.

To find the best place for the installation of such a clock, we organized a survey of citizens on the Internet portal of the Kiev City State Administration, but unfortunately, all of the places offered failed to meet the technical requirements to placing such a large structure. It was therefore decided to install the clock on a hillside on Instytutska Street near Maidan Nezalezhnosti Square.

Kiev is considered the greenest city in Europe for a reason.

Thus, since the installation of the clock our city obtained the outstanding point of interest. Furthermore, from early spring to late fall we had the opportunity to check the time “by flowers”.

Unfortunately, due to the negligence and irresponsible actions of some citizens, the unique clockwork suffered considerable damage as early as in 2 days after its formal opening. The people trampled on the clock, had themselves photographed against the background of it, and eventually bent the hands of the clock, thus the clockwork had to be taken away to have it restored. But the flowerbed in the form of the dial kept giving joy to all citizens of the capital.

The flowerbed clock had to be restored after a harsh winter of 2010. As a result, by May 9, one of the biggest flower clocks in the world was already showing the “Victory Time”, as the flower arrangement copied the famous Order of the Great Patriotic War – the “Order of Victory.”

The clock was renovated one more time by the Independence Day of 2010.

This time it was styled after folk vyshyvankas.

The flower clock is still running – it brings joy to the residents and guests of the capital, being the source of pride of the Ukrainian capital.

Back to the list of projects

Другие проекты:

BACK TO TOP

Персональный сайт Леонида Черновецкого

ЦВЕТОЧНЫЕ ЧАСЫ
Сложный часовой механизм Киеву подарила мэрия города-побратима Эдинбурга.
Реализовано

Общий диаметр часов – 19,5 м, а диаметр циферблата – 16,5 м.

В 2009 году, накануне Дня независимости Украины, 23 августа, мы открыли одни из самых больших цветочных часов в Европе и мире.

На создание цветочного оформления первого дизайна часов было использовано около 50 тысяч цветов, половина из которых образовывали фоновое панно, и столько же — сами цветочные часы. Для подготовки почвенной основы под часы были завезены 400 тонн земли. Эскиз цветочных часов был разработан по мотивам работ народного художника Украины Леонида Андриевского.

Почвенная основа — 400 тонн земли, 50 тысяч цветов, эскиз

Л. Андриевского.

С целью определить наилучшее место для установки таких часов мы организовали опрос горожан на Интернет-портале Киевской городской власти, но, к сожалению, ни одно из предложенных мест не отвечал техническим требованиям размещения такой большой конструкции. Поэтому было принято решение установить часы на склоне по ул. Институтской возле Майдана Независимости.

Киев недаром считается самым зеленым городом Европы.

А с момента установки часов наш город стал обладателем выдающейся достопримечательности. К тому же с ранней весны до глубокой осени мы получили возможность сверять время “по цветам”.

К сожалению, в связи с неосторожностью и безответственными действиями некоторых граждан, уникальный часовой механизм потерпел значительные повреждения уже через 2 дня после официального открытия. По часам топтались, фотографировались и в итоге погнули часовые стрелки и механизм пришлось увезти на реконструкцию. Но клумба в виде циферблата все же продолжала радовать всю столицу.

После суровой зимы 2010 года клумбу-часы пришлось восстанавливать. В результате к 9 мая одни из самых больших цветочных часов в мире показывали уже «Время Победы» – цветочная композиция повторяла вид самого знаменитого ордена Великой Отечественной войны — “Ордена Победы”.

Ко Дню Независимости 2010 года часы снова обновили.

Теперь уже на тему народных вышиванок.

Цветочные часы работают и по сей день – радуют киевлян и гостей столицы, являясь гордостью украинской столицы.

Вернуться к проектам

Другие проекты

Наверх